Contribution Ban

Democratic State Senator Chap Petersen introduced SB 10 for the 2018 General Assembly session. Here's the language of the bill:

Public service corporations are railroads, gas utilities (not drilling or transmission), electric utilities, and telephone companies (that have landlines). Included are - of course - Dominion Energy and Appalachian Power. 

These corporations are regulated by the SCC - whose commissioners are confirmed by the General Assembly. The regulators are controlled by the politicians funded by the regulated corporations, hence the lack of rigorous regulation and the heightened argument to ban contributions.

The candidates below stated that they would vote for a bill in line with SB 10's ban on contributions from public service corporations. 

In Support of SB 10

Incumbent Legislators:

SD 25: Sen. Creigh Deeds SD 29: Sen. Jeremy McPike SD 34: Sen. Chap Petersen

HD 11: Del. Sam Rasoul HD 45: Del. Mark Levine HD 13: Danica Roem HD 21: Kelly Fowler HD 31: Elizabeth Guzman

HD 50: Lee Carter HD 73: Debra Rodman

Unsuccessful in 2017 General Election Bids:

HD 1: Alicia Kallen HD 3: Bill Bunch HD 7: Flo Ketner HD 8: Steve McBride HD 9: Stephanie Cook

HD 17: Djuna Osborne HD 18: Will King (Green) HD 20: Michele Edwards HD 23: Natalie Short

HD 24: John Winfrey (Independent) HD 25: Angela Lynn HD 26: Brent Finnegan HD 27: Larry Barnett

HD 28: Joshua Cole HD 29: Casey Turben HD 30: Ben Hixon HD 53: Mike Casey (Independent) 

HD 55: Morgan Goodman HD 56: Melissa Dart HD 58: Kellen Squire HD 59: Tracy Carver HD 59: Marcus Sutphin (Green) 

HD 60: Jamaal Johnston HD 62: Sheila Bynum-Coleman HD 64: Rebecca Colaw HD 65: Francis Stevens

HD 66: Katie Ann Sponsler HD 69: Montigue Magruder (Green) HD 74: Preston Brown (Independent) HD 77: Jeff Staples (Green)

HD 81: Kimberly Tucker HD 82: Leigh Anne Bowling HD 83: David Rose-Carmack HD 84: Veronica Coleman

HD 88: Steve Aycock HD 88: Gerald Anderson (Green) HD 88: Amanda Blalock (Independent) HD 89: Terry Hurst (Libertarian)

HD 91: Michael Wade HD 96: Kelly DeLucia HD 97: Cori Johnson HD 98: Sheila Crowley